Libya

نظرة عامة 

المنظمة الدولية للهجرة (IOM) أنشأت عملياتها في ليبيا في عام 2006 وتواصل الحفاظ على تواجد قوي في البلاد، مع موظفين يعملون من ثلاثة مكاتب في طرابلس وفي جنوب وشرق ليبيا. تدير البعثة حاليًا 14 مشروعًا في جميع أنحاء ليبيا، بما في ذلك مدن طرابلس وصبراتة وبنغازي وطبرق والزاوية وزوارة ومصراتة وسرت والبيداء ودرنة وغيرها. 

تقوم المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في ليبيا بمضاعفة الاستجابة الطارئة للأزمة الإنسانية من خلال مشاريع مستدامة طويلة الأجل بما في ذلك إدارة الهجرة واستقرار المجتمع. 

المكتب

P.O. Box 6748
Hay Al Andalos Post Office
Tripoli

Tel: +21.82 14 77 78 38, +21.82 14 78 24 68
Fax: +21.82 14 77 78 39
Email: [email protected]

*Please note that the IOM Libya office is currently based in Tunis, Tunisia. 

الحركة والطوارئ وإدارة الهجرة بعد الأزمة 

مشروع 1

وزارة التنمية الدولية: يركز المشروع الذي تموله وزارة التنمية الدولية البريطانية على البحث والإنقاذ في الصحراء في الصحراء في جنوب ليبيا. يعتبر هذا المشروع استجابة للعدد الكبير من المهاجرين الذين يمرون عبر الصحراء من البلدان المجاورة ويواجهون في بعض الأحيان رحلة خطرة ومميتة. ستعمل الحركة مع الصليب الأحمر الليبي لإنشاء فريق للبحث والإنقاذ في المنطقة (او المناطق) المختارة. سيعمل هذا الفريق جنبًا إلى جنب مع فرق الحماية والصحة التابعة للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة لضمان إجراء الإحالات الصحيحة إلى الأسر المضيفة والمراكز الصحية للمهاجرين المستضعفين والمحتاجين إلى الرعاية الصحية. وفي هذا الصدد، قدم المشروع معدات للمراكز الصحية المحلية ودورات تدريبية حول بدائل الاحتجاز ونظام الأسرة المضيفة. 

مشروع 2

وزارة الخارجية الإيطالية: في إطار هذا المشروع، سيستفيد من للعودة إلى بلدهم الأصلي 4،780 مهاجر تم إنقاذهم في البحر، أو احتجازهم في مراكز الاحتجاز، أو الذين تقطعت بهم السبل في المناطق الحضرية في ليبيا. من خلال المساعدة الإنسانية الطوعية، توفر المنظمة الدولية للهجرة حلاً آمناً وكريماً غير متاح للمهاجرين الذين تقطعت بهم السبل والمحتجزين حالياً، بما في ذلك المساعدة في إعادة الإدماج عند وصولهم. 

مشروع 3

وزارة الخارجية الإيطالية: من خلال هذا المشروع، توفر آلية موارد المهاجرين والاستجابة لها الحماية والمساعدة للمهاجرين المستضعفين، بما في ذلك من خلال تقديم المساعدات الإنسانية وغيرها من الخدمات الحيوية. يركز هذا النهج الشامل على المساعدة المباشرة للمهاجرين، والمساعدة في العودة الطوعية وإعادة الإدماج، وجمع البيانات وتحليلها، والتواصل مع المجتمعات. 

مشروع 4

المبادرة المشتركة بين الاتحاد الأوروبي والمنظمة الدولية للهجرة لحماية المهاجرين وإعادة إدماجهم في شمال إفريقيا: كاستجابة مباشرة لأزمة الهجرة في ليبيا، طورت المنظمة الدولية للهجرة برنامج العودة الإنسانية الطوعية (VHR) للمهاجرين الذين تقطعت بهم السبل أو الضعفاء أو المحتجزون الذين أعربوا عن رغبتهم في العودة الطوعية من ليبيا إلى بلدهم الأصلي. يدعم برنامج VHR المهاجرين للحصول على الدعم القنصلي، والعودة إلى ديارهم بأمان مع توفير دعم إعادة الإدماج عند الوصول من خلال خطة إعادة إدماج شاملة مصممة. ستقدم المنظمة الدولية للهجرة مساعدة من VHR إلى 15000 مهاجر تم إنقاذهم في البحر أو احتجازهم في مراكز الاحتجاز أو الذين تقطعت بهم السبل في المناطق الحضرية في ليبيا. ستستمر المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في توسيع نطاق أنشطتها في مجال التوعية ومجال حقوق الإنسان لتشمل مجتمعات المهاجرين في المناطق الحضرية والمهاجرين في مراكز الاحتجاز والمناطق الحضرية. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ستواصل المنظمة الدولية للهجرة تعزيز جهودها لبناء علاقة قوية مع شبكة السلطات القنصلية لتعزيز وثائق السفر والهوية للمهاجرين. ستقدم المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في ليبيا دعم إعادة الإدماج إلى 1500 مهاجر بشكل واضح في شكل أنشطة تعليمية أو طبية أو سكنية. 

 

 

صحة الهجرة 

مشروع 1

وزارة التنمية الدولية البريطانية: من خلال مشروع وزارة التنمية الدولية البريطانية، تم تحديد أربعة مرافق صحية للمساعدة في بناء القدرات. تم تزويد هذه المراكز الصحية في بني وليد بأدوات (التي تشمل الأدوية والمعدات مثل موازين الحرارة، ومقاييس ضغط الدم، وآلات التهوية وغيرها والمواد المستخدمة مرة واحدة) في يناير 2019. 

مشروع 2

أمانة الدولة السويسرية للهجرة: يهدف هذا المشروع إلى تلبية الاحتياجات الصحية والحرجة للمهاجرين المحتجزين. سوف يحصل 3,050 مستفيد على خدمات الرعاية الصحية الأولية مع روابط إحالة لخدمات الرعاية والحماية المتخصصة. بالإضافة إلى ذلك، ستتاح الفرصة للاستفادة من برنامج العودة الإنسانية الطوعية للمهاجرين الذين يعربون عن استعدادهم للعودة إلى بلدانهم الأصلية عن المنظمة الدولية للهجرة. 

 

 

الهجرة والتنمية 

مشروع 1

أمانة الدولة السويسرية للهجرة: يهدف هذا المشروع إلى تعزيز مبادرات ريادة الأعمال الصغيرة في سبها وقطرون كوسيلة لتحسين الوصول إلى العمل الحر والمساعدة في تزويد الدخل، وبالتالي المساهمة في دعم استقرار المجتمعات المحلية المتأثرة بالنزاعات وقدرتها على التكيف في جنوب ليبيا. تم اختيار 115 من رواد الأعمال المستفيدين من سبها وقطرون وتزويدهم بالتدريب على المهارات التجارية وسيتم ايضاً تزويدهم بالأدوات والمعدات اللازمة لبدء أعمالهم أو تحديثها في الأشهر المقبلة. 

مشروع 2

وزارة الخارجية الإيطالية: يركز هذا المشروع على تحقيق الاستقرار المجتمعي لمعالجة دوافع عدم الاستقرار، بما في ذلك التوترات بين المهاجرين والمجتمعات المحلية من خلال استعادة الخدمات والبنية التحتية المجتمعية، وفي الوقت نفسه توفير فرص العمل على المدى القصير للمهاجرين والنازحين داخليا والمجتمعات المضيفة وإنعاش الاقتصاد المحلي. 

 

 

سياسة الهجرة والبحوث 

الوصف / الجهات المانحة 

يهدف البرنامج البحثي إلى تطوير وتعزيز قاعدة معارف موثوقة وشاملة حول الهجرة في ليبيا من خلال إنشاء وتوسيع شبكة من الباحثين والخبراء المحليين والدوليين والأكاديميين وصانعي السياسات الذين يعملون على الهجرة في ليبيا. 

يتم إبلاغ أنشطة البحوث في المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في ليبيا بالإطار التعاوني الذي حدده الميثاق العالمي للهجرة (GCM). وتتمثل الأهداف الرئيسية في تعزيز معرفة وتحليل الهجرة من أجل تقاسم المسؤوليات والسياسات المحسنة، من خلال تصميم وتطوير دراسات تستند إلى بيانات جيدة عن الحقوق والالتزامات وخيارات الهجرة الآمنة وزيادة الوعي بمخاطر الهجرة غير النظامية. تهدف الدراسات المقترحة إلى عرض وتحليل كل من تحديات ومزايا الهجرة وتبديد الروايات المضللة التي تولد إدراكًا سلبيًا للمهاجرين. وتهدف الدراسات البحثية ونتائجها وتوصياتها إلى تمكين المهاجرين، وخاصة النساء والشباب، من أن يصبحوا أعضاء كاملين في المجتمعات، وتسليط الضوء على مساهماتهم الإيجابية في الاقتصاد المحلي والتنمية وتعزيز الاندماج والتماسك الاجتماعي. 

مشروع 1

الصندوق الائتماني الأوروبي (EUTF): في إطار مشروع الصندوق الائتماني الأوروبي لحماية المهاجرين المعرضين للخطر وتحقيق الاستقرار في المجتمعات المحلية في ليبيا وحتى الآن، قامت المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في ليبيا بالاستعانة بمصادر خارجية في ثلاث دراسات لمؤسسة فكرية مستقلة وجامعتين دوليتين: 

  • تقييم سريع لسوق العمل والمهارات في موقعين من العينات مع تركيز عالٍ من المهاجرين، أوباري وقطرون 

  • ليبيا بعد 2011: تحليل أثر النزاع المسلح على المهاجرين طويل الأجل في ليبيا (جامعة كولومبيا)  

  •  بناء ملامح رأس المال البشري بين كل من المهاجرين الدوليين والمقيمين في ليبيا (جامعة جورج تاون) 

دراستان قادمتان أيضا - الأولى هي رسم خرائط وتصنيف الليبيين كمهاجرين ومهاجرين محتملين في ليبيا، مع التركيز أيضًا على قرار الهجرة فيما يتعلق بـ: (1) تأثير العوامل البيئية على النزوح، وتحديداً التصحر والجفاف في الجنوب، (2) والوصول إلى العمل للشباب (3) ودور المرأة. والثانية هي تقييم سريع للسياسات القائمة على الأدلة بشأن الاتجار بالأشخاص وتهريب المهاجرين في ليبيا. 

مشروع 2

في إطار برنامج استقرار المجتمع (EUTF)، استعانت المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في ليبيا بدراستين: 

  • تقييم الفرص الاقتصادية للمجتمعات المضيفة والمهاجرين في قطاع الزراعة والثروة الحيوانية في ليبيا (DIWAN Research and Voluntas) 

  • تقييم سوق العمل في بنغازي والكفرة - دعم أصحاب المشاريع الصغيرة المحلية من خلال المهارات المهنية المستهدفة والتدريب على تنظيم المشاريع وتوفير الدعم العيني على نطاق صغير في القطاعات ذات صلة للاقتصاد.

مشروع 3

برنامج التنمية والحماية الإقليمي: في إطار برنامج التنمية والحماية الإقليمي في شمال إفريقيا، يتم تطوير دراستين: 1. تقييم سوق العمل في طرابلس والبلد بأكمله و2. دراسة جدوى حول الاتفاق الثنائي للتعاون بين ليبيا ودول المنشأ الرئيسية. 

 

 

البرامج الاصلاحية 

الوصف / الجهات المانحة

الصندوق الائتماني لحالات الطوارئ في الاتحاد الأوروبي لأفريقيا - تم إنشاء الصندوق الائتماني لحالات الطوارئ في الاتحاد الأوروبي لأفريقيا لمعالجة الأسباب الرئيسية للهجرة غير النظامية في جميع أنحاء إفريقيا. يركز النطاق الإقليمي للصندوق الائتماني في ليبيا على حماية وقدرة المهاجرين والمجتمعات المضيفة في جميع أنحاء ليبيا.  

ينقسم المشروع إلى قسمين: 

1. الحماية والمساعدة لجميع المحتاجين بهدف توسيع حيز الحماية في ليبيا، مع التركيز بشكل خاص على المهاجرين واللاجئين. 

2. تحقيق الاستقرار بهدف دعم التنمية الاجتماعية والاقتصادية على مستوى البلديات والحكم المحلي، من أجل تحسين دمج المهاجرين والنازحين داخليا والعائدين وايضاً تحقيق الاستقرار في المجتمعات المضيفة.

مشروع 1

هناك أربعة أهداف استراتيجية: 

1. تقديم مساعدة وحماية متعددة القطاعات للمهاجرين واللاجئين والمجتمعات المضيفة ، لا سيما داخل مراكز الاحتجاز ، عند نقاط النزول ، في المناطق الحضرية والمواقع الصحراوية. 

2. تعزيز التشريعات والهياكل وآليات التنسيق لسياسة هجرة العمل من أجل الإدارة الفعالة لهجرة اليد العاملة. 

3. تعزيز بيانات الهجرة والتواصل بشأن تدفقات الهجرة وطرقها واتجاهاتها. 

4. دعم استقرار ومرونة المجتمعات المتأثرة بالصراع. 

ستقدم المنظمة الدولية للهجرة المساعدة والحماية اللازمين للمهاجرين الضعفاء وغيرهم من السكان المتضررين من الأزمة في ليبيا وتحسين التماسك الاجتماعي. تم تصميم التدخلات لمعالجة حجم محاولات الهجرة غير النظامية عبر البحر الأبيض المتوسط ​​من ليبيا والتحديات الناجمة عن ذلك بالنسبة للمهاجرين والمؤسسات التي تفتقر إلى الموارد في السلطات الليبية، ولا سيما خفر السواحل الليبي (LCG) وأمن الموانئ والوزارة وزارة الشؤون الداخلية لمكافحة الهجرة غير الشرعية (DCIM). ستنفذ المنظمة الدولية للهجرة تدخلات هادفة في نقاط النزوح ومراكز احتجاز المهاجرين، التي لا تفي حاليًا بالمعايير الدولية ويقال إنها كانت مواقع لإساءة معاملة المهاجرين واستغلالهم. 

مشروع 2

سوف تستجيب المنظمة الدولية للهجرة لآثار عدم الاستقرار المستمر والأوضاع الاقتصادية الصعبة للمهاجرين والمجتمعات المضيفة، والأشخاص النازحون داخلياً، والعائدين في ليبيا. يعاني جميع السكان في جميع أنحاء ليبيا من انعدام أمن خطير ومشقة اجتماعية واقتصادية، بما في ذلك عدم القدرة على الوصول إلى المساعدة الطبية المنقذة للحياة، وانعدام الأمن الغذائي، ونقص مياه الشرب المأمونة، والصرف الصحي، والمأوى والتعليم، في سياق حكم القانون الذي استمر أسبوعًا. 

ستدعم المنظمة الدولية للهجرة الملاجئ الآمنة كبدائل للاحتجاز حيث يتم تجديد مراكز الاحتجاز ونقاط النزول من أجل تلبية الحد الأدنى من معايير الاحتجاز (المراحيض ومرافق الاستحمام ونظام الصرف الصحي). يسعى الإجراء إلى معالجة شواغل حماية المهاجرين المتصاعدة من خلال التدخلات في نقاط النزوح ومراكز الاحتجاز في المناطق الصحراوية الجنوبية النائية والمناطق الحضرية، وكذلك من خلال العمل على تطوير إدارة سوق العمل كوسيلة لتوفير فرص اقتصادية مستدامة للمهاجرين في سوق العمل الليبي. 

مشروع 3

من خلال مكون تحقيق الاستقرار المجتمعي، ستساهم المنظمة الدولية للهجرة في تخفيف التوترات بين القبائل الليبية وبين المجتمعات المضيفة الليبية والمهاجرين من خلال تزويد المجتمعات المحلية والحكومات البلدية في أربع مدن بفرص لتنفيذ مشاريع من شأنها استعادة الخدمات الأساسية، وإصلاح البنية الأساسية الرئيسية، وتعزيز التنمية الاقتصادية، في حين جمع مختلف المجموعات معا بسلام وبروح من التعاون. ويستند هذا إلى البرمجة المستمرة لاستقرار المجتمع الدولي للمنظمة الدولية للهجرة، مما يزيد من نطاق وتنوع الأنشطة في سبها والقطرون في الجنوب مع توسيع نطاقه ليشمل كفرة وبنغازي، وهما مدينتان تعرّض فيهما التماسك المجتمعي لتقويض شديد في السنوات الأخيرة. 

Highlights

Latin American Countries Agree on Road Map for the Integration of Venezuelans

/ar/node/5317

Tripoli Migrant Centre Airstrike Death Toll Rises to 53, Including 6 Children

/ar/node/5319

Libya

Overview

The International Organization for Migration (IOM) established its operations in Libya in 2006 and continues to maintain a strong presence in the country, with staff working from three offices in Tripoli and in southern and eastern Libya. The mission currently runs 14 projects across Libya, including in the cities of Tripoli, Sabratha, Benghazi, Tobruk, Azzawyia, Zwara, Misrata, Sirt, Albayda, Derna, among others.

IOM Libya couples emergency response to humanitarian crisis with long-term sustainable projects including migration management and community stabilization.

Office

P.O. Box 6748
Hay Al Andalos Post Office
Tripoli

Tel: +21.82 14 77 78 38, +21.82 14 78 24 68
Fax: +21.82 14 77 78 39
Email: [email protected]

*Please note that the IOM Libya office is currently based in Tunis, Tunisia. 

Movement, Emergency and Post-crisis Migration Management

Project 1

DFID: The DFID-funded project focuses on Search and Rescue in the Desert (SARD) in the desert in the south of Libya. This is a response to the high numbers of migrants who pass through the desert form neighboring countries, who often face a dangerous and sometimes fatal journey. The action will work with the Libyan Red Cross to set up a search and rescue team in the chosen area(s). This team will work together with IOM protection and health teams to ensure that the correct referrals are made to host families and health centres for vulnerable migrants and those in need of health care. In this regard, the project has provided equipment to local health centres and trainings on alternatives to detention and the host family system.

Project 2

Italian MFA: Under this project 4,780 migrants rescued at sea, detained in detention centres, or stranded in urban areas of Libya will benefit from the voluntary humanitarian return assistance to their country of origin. Through VHR, IOM provides an otherwise unavailable safe and dignified solution for currently stranded and detained migrants, including assistance with reintegration upon their arrival.

Project 3

Italian MFA: Through this project, the Migrant Resource and Response Mechanism provides protection and assistance to vulnerable migrants, including through provision of humanitarian aid and other critical services. This comprehensive approach focuses on direct assistance to migrants, assisted voluntary return and reintegration, collection and data analysis, and communication with communities. 

Project 4

EU-IOM Joint Initiative for Migrant Protection and Reintegration in North Africa: As a direct response to the migration crisis in Libya, IOM developed the Voluntary Humanitarian Return (VHR) Programme for stranded, vulnerable, or detained migrants who expressed their desire to voluntarily return from Libya to their country of origin. The VHR programme supports migrants to acquire consular support, return home safely while providing reintegration support upon arrival through a tailored, comprehensive reintegration plan. IOM will offer VHR assistance to 15,000 migrants rescued at sea, detained in detention centres, or stranded in urban areas in Libya. IOM will continue to expand its VHR outreach and awareness-raising activities to migrant communities in urban settings, and to migrants in detention centres and urban areas. In addition, IOM will continue to enhance its efforts to build a strong relationship with the network of consular authorities to enhance travel and identity documentation for migrants. In support of reintegration for migrants from Libya, IOM Libya will provide reintegration support to indicatively 1,500 migrants in the form of either education, medical, housing, and or income generating activities.

 

 

Migration Health

Project 1

DFID: Through the DFID project, four health facilities were identified for capacity building assistance. These health centres in Bani Waleed were provided with materials (which include medicines and equipment like thermometers, blood pressure meters, ventilation machines etc. and disposable materials) in January 2019.

Project 2

Swiss State Secretariat for Migration: The aim of this project is to address the critical protection and health needs of detained migrants. 3,050 beneficiaries will have access to primary health care services with referral linkages for specialized care and protection services. In addition, migrants who express a willingness to return to their countries of origin will have the opportunity to benefit from IOM’s Voluntary Humanitarian Return programme.

 

 

Migration and Development

Project 1

Swiss State Secretariat for Migration: This project aims to promote micro-entrepreneurship initiatives in Sabha and Qatroun as a means to improve access to self-employment and help generate income, thereby contributing to support the stability and resilience of conflict-affected communities in the south of Libya. 115 micro-entrepreneur beneficiaries from Sabha and Qatroun were chosen and provided with business skills training. They will be provided with tools and equipment to start or refresh their business in the coming months.

Project 2

Italian MFA: In addition to VHR and MRRM components, this project focuses on community stabilisation to address the drivers of instability, including tensions between migrants and local communities though the restoration of services and community infrastructure, while at the same time providing short-term employment opportunities for migrants, IDPs, and host communities and reviving the local economy.

 

 

Migration Policy and Research

Description / Donors 

The research program aims at developing and strengthening a reliable and comprehensive knowledge-base on migration in Libya through the establishment and expansion of a network of local and international researchers and experts, academia and policy makers working on migration in Libya.
the Research activities at IOM Libya are informed to the cooperative framework set by the Global Compact for Migration (GCM). The main purposes are strengthening the knowledge and analysis of migration for shared responsibilities and improved policies, through the design and development of studies based on quality data on rights, obligations, options for safe migration and awareness raising about the risks of irregular migration. The proposed studies are intended to present and analyse both the challenges and benefits of migration and to dispel the misleading narratives that generate a negative perception of migrants. Research studies and their findings and recommendations are thus aimed at empowering migrants, especially women and youth, to become full members of the societies, highlighting their positive contribution to the local economy and development and promoting inclusion and social cohesion.

Project 1

EUTF: Under the European Trust Fund Project Protecting vulnerable migrants and stabilizing communities in Libyaand to date IOM Libya outsourced 3 studies to an independent think-tank and two international universities:

  • Rapid labor market and skills assessment of two sample locations with high concentrations of migrants, Ubari and Qatrun (Altai Consulting)
  • Libya post-2011: Analyzing the impact of armed conflict on long-term migrants in Libya (SIPA – Columbia University)
  • Constructing the human capital profiles among both the international migrant and resident population in Libya (Georgetown University)

Two studies are also upcoming. The first is a Mapping and profiling Libyans as potential migrants and migrants in Libya, focusing also on the decision to migrate in relation to:  the impact of environmental factors on displacement, specifically desertification and droughts in the south (1), the access to employment for youth (2), and the role of women (3). The second is a Rapid assessment for evidence-based policies on trafficking in persons and smuggling of migrants in Libya.

Project 2

Under the Community Stabilization Programme (EUTF), IOM Libya outsourced two studies:

  • Assessment of economic opportunities for host and migrant communities in the agriculture and livestock sector in Libya (DIWAN Research and Voluntas Advisory)
  • Labour Market Assessment in Benghazi and Kufrah - supporting local micro entrepreneurs through targeted vocational skills and entrepreneurship trainings and provision of small-scale in-kind support in relevant sectors of the economy (Altai Consulting)

Project 3

RDPP: Under the Regional Development and Protection Programme in North Africa two studies are being developed: a labour market assessment in Tripoli and in the whole country and a feasibility study on bilateral agreement for cooperation between Libya and the major countries of origin.

 

 

Reparation Programmes

Description / Donors 

EU EMERGENCY TRUST FUND FOR AFRICA – The EUTF for Africa was established to address the primary causes of irregular migration throughout Africa. The regional scope of the Trust Fund in Libya focuses on the protection and resilience of migrants and in host communities throughout Libya. The project is divided into two pillars: 1)
protection and assistance for all those in need, with the aim to expand the protection space in Libya, with a particular focus on migrants and refugees; 2) stabilization, aiming at supporting socioeconomic development at municipal level and local governance, in order to better integrate migrants, internally displaced persons and returnees and stabilize host communities

Project 1

There are Four STRATEGIC OBJECTIVES:

1.Provide multi-sectoral assistance and protection to migrants, refugees and host communities, in particular inside detention centres, at disembarkation points, in urban settings and desert locations.

2.Enhance of labour migration policy legislation, structures, and coordination mechanisms for effective labour migration management.

3.Strengthen migration data and communication on migration flows, routes and trends.

4.Support the stability and resilience of conflict-affected communities.

IOM will provide urgently needed assistance and protection to vulnerable migrants and other crisis-affected populations in Libya and improve social cohesion. The intervention has been designed to address the magnitude of irregular migration attempts across the Mediterranean from Libya and the resulting challenges for migrants and the under-resourced institutions of the Libyan authorities, particularly the Libyan Coast Guard (LCG), Port Security, and the Ministry of Internal Affairs’ Department for Combatting Illegal Migration (DCIM). IOM will carry out targeted interventions at points of disembarkation and migrant detention centres, which presently do not meet minimum international standards and have reportedly been sites of abuse and exploitation of migrants.

Project 2

 

IOM will respond to the effects of the ongoing instability and difficult economic conditions of migrants and host communities, and when relevant internally displaced persons (IDPs), and returnees in Libya. All populations across Libya suffer from grave insecurity, social and economic hardship, including the inability to access life-saving medical assistance, food insecurity, and lack of safe drinking water, sanitation, shelter and education, in a context of week rule of law.

IOM will support safe shelters as alternatives to detention whereby the refurbishment of detention centres and disembarkation points will take place in order to meet the minimum detention standards (toilets, showering facilities, and sewage system). The Action seeks to address the escalating protection concerns of migrants through interventions at disembarkation points, detention centres, in remote southern desert areas, and urban settings, but also through working to develop the labour market management as a means of providing sustainable economic opportunities for migrants on the Libyan labour market.

Project 3

Through the community stabilization component, IOM will contribute towards the easing of tensions between Libyan tribes and between Libyan host communities and migrants by providing communities and municipal governments in four cities with opportunities to implement projects that will restore essential services, rehabilitate key infrastructure, and promote economic development, while bringing different groups together peacefully and in a spirit of cooperation. This builds on IOM’s ongoing community stabilisation programming, increasing the scale and diversity of activities in Sabha and Qatroun in the South while also expanding into Kufrah and Benghazi, two cities where community cohesion has been severely undermined by violence in recent years.

Highlights

Latin American Countries Agree on Road Map for the Integration of Venezuelans

/pbn/latin-american-countries-agree-road-map-integration-venezuelans-0

Tripoli Migrant Centre Airstrike Death Toll Rises to 53, Including 6 Children

/pbn/tripoli-migrant-centre-airstrike-death-toll-rises-53-including-6-children-0

Attack on Libyan Detention Centre an "Appalling Breach of International Law" - UN Network on Migration

/pbn/attack-libyan-detention-centre-appalling-breach-international-law-un-network-migration-0

Migrants Preparing to Return Home With IOM’s Assistance Among Casualties of Libyan Detention Centre Airstrike

/pbn/migrants-preparing-return-home-iom%E2%80%99s-assistance-among-casualties-libyan-detention-centre-0